Uni Queensland leads appointments achievements of the week

The University of Queensland announces the 2019 staff excellence awards

Innovation: * Dilum Fernando, Civil Engineering. Lead inventor of double-skin tubular arch bridge system. * RDM iDMP-IV Fast-track team. Collaboration between Library, IT Services, PVC Research Infrastructure, UQ Research Data Manager. Research data management programme.

Service: * Scott Tucker, Business, Economics and Law. Fostering culture of collaboration and communication. * Sponsored Research Fellowships. Competitive research fellowship applications, nominations for major prizes and awards.

Community, diversity, inclusion: * Helen Ross, Agriculture and food sciences.

Driving equity and diversity. * Disability Inclusion Group. Dismantling physical, technological and culture barriers. * Working group, steering committee and UQ community contributors. Reconciliation action plan.

Mental and Physical Health, Safety and Wellness: * Sexual misconduct support unit. Response, support and prevention activities.

Leadership: * Marni Jacoby, Medicine. Reinvigorated staff culture. * Spinifex Nano-cellulose Pilot Plant Team at Long Pocket. Australia’s first and largest nano-cellulose production facility.

Other announcements Thursday
Johan Wesseloo is the new director of the Australian Centre for Geomechanics at UWA, where he has worked since 2007. He replaces Yves Potvin, director since 2000.

The University of Melbourne has two new vice chancellor’s fellows. Long-serving federal Labor minister Jenny Macklin will collaborate on inter-disciplinary research, hosted by the Melbourne School of Government. She will also “support” the Melbourne Disability Institute, “to build its position as a global leader in disability research and policy advice.”
Sir John Savill is the newly appointed ED of the Melbourne Academic Centre for Health. His role as VC fellow, “will involve acting and advocating for the university” and advising on innovation and infrastructure.”

And earlier in the week
Brad Yu moves from ANU to Curtin U to take up the Optus chair in artificial intelligence.

Sally Robinson moves toto become professor of disability and community inclusion. She joins from Southern Cross U.

Two Uni Queensland historians are elected fellows of the Royal Historical Society, medieval historian Megan Cassidy-Welch (head of the School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry), and Chi-Kong Lai (Chinese history).

Daniel Bell is confirmed as general counsel at the University of Newcastle. He has acted in the role since mid ’18.

Matt Gijselman takes over at the NUW Alliance, a “smart solutions” lobby for the three big cities of NSW. It was formed in July 2017 by UNSW and the universities of Newcastle and Wollongong. Mr Gijselman comes from corporate and government public affairs, he replaces Bran Black, appointed in April ’18.

Jonathan Carapetis is named president elect of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes. Professor Carapetis is director of the Perth based child health research agency, the Telethon Kids Institute. He replaces Vlado Perkovic, the new dean of medicine at UNSW.

Scientist and science journalist Elizabeth Finkel is awarded the Australian Society of Medical Research’s medal. “The ASMR considers science communication to be the most important bridge between scientists, the community and policy makers (it) recognises Dr Finkel’s work and highlights her position as a pioneer and leader of this field.”

Don Weatherburn becomes an adjunct professor with the University of Sydney Law School, following his resignation, after 21 years at the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research.

Victoria U chancellor, George Pappas will co-chair a governance review of the Western Bulldogs AFL club. The university says it has a “unique association and multifaceted partnership” with the club. Mr Pappas’ co-chair is Bulldogs community foundation chair Gaye Hamilton.

The Council of Australasian University Directors of IT announces its 2019 award winners,
Improving student success: University of Canberra, Student 360 Team
Innovation in teaching and learning: Griffith U, Digital Solutions Team
Excellence in research support: Uni Auckland, Centre for eResearch Hub Development Team
Operational Excellence: Uni Newcastle’s Kesley KernesCliff Kroemer and Jessika Magnisson Baker for robotic process automation
Emerging leader: Uni Auckland’s Tamara Al-Salim
The inaugural ACE award for involvement in CAUDIT goes to Scott Sorley from Uni Southern Queensland


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education