Appointments, achievements

Jonathan Carapetis is named president elect of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes. Professor Carapetis is director of the Perth based child health research agency, the Telethon Kids Institute. He replaces Vlado Perkovic, the new dean of medicine at UNSW.

Scientist and science journalist Elizabeth Finkel is awarded the Australian Society of Medical Research’s medal. “The ASMR considers science communication to be the most important bridge between scientists, the community and policy makers (it) recognises Dr Finkel’s work and highlights her position as a pioneer and leader of this field.”

Don Weatherburn becomes an adjunct professor with the University of Sydney Law School, following his resignation, after 21 years at the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research.

Victoria U chancellor, George Pappas will co-chair a governance review of the Western Bulldogs AFL club. The university says it has a “unique association and multifaceted partnership” with the club. Mr Pappas’ co-chair is Bulldogs community foundation chair Gaye Hamilton.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education