HEADS UP: Achievements of the working week

Achievements of the working week

 The Australian New Zealand Student Services Association has appointed a new executive; Christie White (USQ), president, Jordi Austin (UniSydney) immediate past president, VP Aus Mark Young (La Trobe U), VP NZ Karen Davis (Victoria Uni of Wellington), treasurer, Dorinda Harvey-Bravo (Griffith U) and secretary, Andrea Strachan (UoQ).


The University of Canberra VC’s excellence awards are announced:

Educator of the year: Disa Smee (sport and exercise science)

Early career educator: Catherine Galvin (clinical biomechanics)

Early career researcher: Richard Keegan (sport and exercise psychology)

Research excellence: John Dryzek (governance and political analysis)

Diversity: Peter O’Brien (Collaborative Indigenous Research Initiative)

Innovation and creativity: Daniel Murphy (digital content publisher)

Professional individual: Shubhra Roy (research services)

Professional team:  Creativity and Social Change team in the Centre for Creative and Cultural Research



Hung Nguyen will start in February as PVC of Swinburne U’s faculty of science, engineering and technology. He joins from UTS.


Monash University has announced the vice chancellor’s education and research awards.

Early Career Researchers:

Humanities and Social Sciences: Jennifer Windt (Arts), Selby Coxon (Art Design and Architecture).

Science and Technology: Eric Chow (Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences)

Research enterprise: Monash Centre for Additive Manufacturing

Research Impact: Graham Currie, Dr Alexa Delbosc

Research impact and enterprise: Monash University Accident Research Centre

Postgraduate supervision: Tony Patti (Science)

Citations for outstanding contributions to student learning: Adam Clulow (Arts), Jasmina Lazendic-Galloway, Thu-Ha (Hannah) Nguyen (Monash Business School), Erica Sloan (Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences)

Early career citation winner: Nick Parkin (Arts)

Teaching excellence award: James Roffee (Arts), Alistair Thomson (Arts), Dana Wong (Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences)

Priority area: Simone Gibson (Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences0

Honours supervision: Peter Howard (Arts)

Programs that enhance learning: Postgraduate Industry Experience Program, Information Technology, Gail Bourne, Chris Gonsalvez, Livia Mammarella, Peter O’Donnell, Harnam Thandi and Yiwei Zhong.

Excellence in postgraduate coursework teaching: Charanjit Kaur (Monash Business School)

Monash honour roll: John McNeill (Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences)


The Flinders University Vice-Chancellor Awards for Excellence in Teaching are out: Howard Fallowfield, Kirstin Ross and Harriet Whiley from the College of Science and Engineering win for Zombie Apocalypse, a course in environmental health which teaches students food and water safety, and how to test for poisonous gas (such a problem at Bedford Park).

Other winners, which do not involve taking The Walking Dead seriously are:

Amanda Müller, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Up The Hill Project: Fiona RillottaLorraine LindsayJenny Widdop, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Global Workplace Teaching Team: Susanne Schech, Maryanne KeltonVerity KingsmillDavid Willis, Colleges of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences/ Business, Government and Law

Lisa Bennett and Erin Sebo, College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education