Awards for tech stars

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering announces its 2021 achievers

Entrepreneurship: Leanne Kemp (QUT adjunct professor) founder of Everledger (digital record of provenance of objects)

Innovation: Alan Wong (RMIT) for fire-risk detection on power networks

Knowledge commercialisation: Anne Voss (the medical research institute formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall), Tim Thomas (WEHI), Jonathan Baell, (Monash U) cancer treatment licensed to Pfizer)

Engineering: Kate Nguyen (RMIT) non-combustible building cladding

Agrifood: Lindsay Bell (CSIRO) managing climate for dryland cropping and livestock farms. Anna El-Tahchy (Nourish Ingredients, ex CSIRO), flavour, sustainability of plant-based food

Solomon Award: Luke Djukic (Omni Tanker), transport of dangerous goods

Rizzardo Polymer Scholarship: Georgia Hunter (Monash U) multi-polymer materials. Hayden Robertson (Uni Newcastle) stimulus-responsive polymers