Appointments, achievements at ANU, NHMRC and Humanities Academy

Deakin U’s Saeid Nahavandi, (haptics, robotics, complex systems) has won Geelong’s Barry Jones medal, awarded for advancing the cause of research and innovation in the city. The award is named for the Geelong-native, all-Australian polymath.

The ANU Vice Chancellors awards are announced with philosopher Frank Jackson winning the peak staff honour, the Peter Baume award.

Other awards go to: Early Career Academic: Mohsen Rahmani, (Physics & Engineering). Educational Excellence: Shari Read, (Management). Impact and Engagement: Graham Walker, (Centre for the Public Awareness of Science). Innovation (Service and Solution): Geoffrey Hinchcliffe and education committee, Art and Design. Public Policy and Outreach: Adele Chynoweth, (Archaeology & Anthropology). Reconciliation: Amanda Stuart and Balawan Elective Team, (Art and Design). Excellence in Research: Susan O’Connor, (Culture, History & Language). Clare Burton Award for Excellence in Equity & Diversity: Andrea Butler, Katherine Carroll and Breastfeeding at ANU working group.

The National Health and Medical Research Council has announced membership of its Health Innovation Advisory Committee, to serve until 2021.

 Chair Katherine Woodthorpe, is also in the NHMRC’s overall advisory council. Other members are; Matthew Cooper (UoQ), Dean Moss (health and biotech investor), Anna Lavelle (chair, Medicines Australia), Robyn O’Hehir (Monash U), John Prins (Melbourne Medical School), Ashley Bush, (Melbourne Dementia Research Centre), Julie Phillips (director, MTP Connect), Rebecca Davies (chair, Heart Foundation NSW), Laura Thomson (Aboriginal health leader), Ruth Stewart, (James Cook U), Jennifer Herz (biopharmaceutical industry executive).

The Australian Academy of the Humanities has elected new fellows.

Jane Balme, Australian archaeology, (UWA). Michael Barr, Singapore politics and society (Flinders U). Jacqueline Broad, early modern philosophy, (Monash University). Malcolm Choat, Coptic and Greek papyrology, (Macquarie University).  Axel Fliethmann,  literary theory (Monash University). Jim Harrison, New Testament social history, (Sydney College of Divinity). Michael Keane, Chinese media and cultural studies, (Curtin University). Julia Kindt, ancient Greek religion, (Uni Sydney). Kama Maclean, history of modern India, (UNSW).  Jeff Malpas, philosophy of place (Uni Tasmania). Allan Marett, Australian Aboriginal music, (Sydney Conservatorium of Music).  Jennifer Milam, 18th century art history, (Uni Melbourne). Luke Morgan, early modern art history, (Monash University). Fiona Paisley, history of human rights, (Griffith University). Lynette Russell, Indigenous histories, (Monash University). Lyndall Ryan, Australian colonial and post-colonial history, (Uni Newcastle). Vanessa Smith, 18th, 9th century literary studies, (Uni Sydney).  Lesley Stirling, applied and descriptive linguistics, (Uni Melbourne). Sandra Wilson, political history modern Japan, (Murdoch University).

Corresponding Fellows: Susanna Braund, imperial Latin literature, (U British Columbia), Michael Burden, opera and theatre history, (University of Oxford),  Simon Holdaway, Aus, Egyptian, and New Zealand archaeology, (Uni Auckland). Elizabeth Poyinelli, critical theory of late liberalism, (Columbia University).

Honorary Fellows: Nicholas Shakespeare, novelist. Pamela Tate, Victorian supreme court justice. John Kinsella, poet, novelist. Helen Garner, novelist. John Vallance NSW State Librarian.




to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education