Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 At RMITShona Leitch moves up from Deputy PVC-learning and teaching to Associate DVC- quality enhancement.

Tracy Taylor will become dean of Murdoch University’s business school in October. Professor Taylor moves from deputy dean of business at UTS.

Peter Varghese has received Asialink’s 2018 Edward “Weary” Dunlop Medal. Mr Varghese is University of Queensland chancellor and author of last year’s India Economic Strategy to 2034, for the Commonwealth.

Stefan Williams (Uni Sydney) is named a distinguished lecturer by the Oceanic Engineering Society of the US based Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

WA governor Kim Beazley is the new patron of Curtin U’s Autism Academy for Software Quality Assurance. The academy creates employment pathways in software testing for people with autism.

Of the week

 Richard Scully from UNE is elected a fellow of the UK Royal Historical SocietyApso Scully’s works include a three-volume  history of 19th century UK political cartoons.

Gloria Calescu has taken over the comms role at the Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency. She replaces Raphael May who has moved to a comms consultancy.

Michelle Trudgett joins Western Sydney U as PVC, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education, Strategy and Consultation. She moves from UTS.

La Trobe U announces the 2019 Tracey Banivanua Mar Fellows, awarded to “future research leaders who have major care-giving responsibilities”. They are; Kerryn Pike from the School of Psychology and Public Health and Amanda Cooklin from the School of Nursing and Midwifery.

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Karen Andrews has announced the  Indigenous STEM awards. HE honours go to, Professional Career Achievement: Rhett Loban, Macquarie U. Professional Early Career: Tui Nolan, UTS. Tertiary Student: Taylah Griffin, QUT. The awards are part of a BHP FoundationCSIRO programme.

Rosemary Kayess from UNSW’s Disability Innovation Institute is elected vice chair of theUN Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Stuart Palmer, very recently ex Deakin U, is joining the University of Melbourne’s Centre for the Study of Higher Education.

Ryan Loxton from Curtin U’s School of Electrical Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences, is awarded the 2019 J H Michell Medal from the Australian Mathematical Society.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education