Appointments, achievements

Edith Cowan U has appointed a new head of the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts. David Shirley will join from the Manchester School of Theatre at Manchester Metropolitan University in the UK.

The Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations has announced its 2019 officers. president – Natasha Abrahams, general secretary – Rachel Brisbane, policy and research advisor – Owen Myles, media officer – Zoë Tulip, women’s officer,  Romana-Rea Begicevic, international officer – Devendra Singh, disabilities officer Marguerite Biasatti, queer officer – Lauren Taylor.

UNSW Dean of Science Emma Johnston is the Royal Society of NSW’s Clark Medallist, for zoology, botany, geology, (CMM Friday). The University of Sydney wants it known that it also did well, winning five of the six RS medals; Elizabeth New (Edgeworth David medal for chemistry), Paul Griffiths (history and philosophy of science medal), Elizabeth Elliott (James Cook medal for science and human welfare in southern hemisphere), Robert Park (Poggendorff Lecture in plant biology-agriculture).  UniSydney’s Evelyn Todd won the RSNSW scholarship.

The staff honours of the day are from the University of Southern Queensland where 2018 excellence awards go to; Community engagement and service, Erin Byles, Anton La Vin, Liam Scott, (Secondary Schools Moot Competition). Learning and teaching, Syed Shams, (Commerce). Diversity and inclusion, Shahjahan Khan, (Ag, Computational and Environmental Sciences). Innovation and change, Mark Phythian, Melissa Bradey, Sean Davidson, Jessica Grills, Ashly Peterson, Gemma Wharton, (Health, Engineering and Sciences). Values-based leadership: Residential Life team. Research: Roger Stone, (Applied Climate Sciences). Early career research, Jayne Persian, (Arts and Comms). Research supervision, Peter McIlveen (Linguistics and education). Research Service, Danielle Joyce (Financial services).


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education