Appointments, achievements

The International Australian Studies Association announces office holders for 2023-24. Anna Johnston (Uni Queensland) will be president, Jon Piccini (Australian Catholic U) treasurer, Andonis Piperoglou (Uni Melbourne) VP, and Daozhi Xu (Macquarie U) secretary. Other exec and editorial people are HERE

Industry and Science Minister Ed Husic appoints a committee to advise on a national robotics strategy, including, * Catherine Ball (ANU), * Bronwyn Fox (CSIRO) – chair, * Simon Lucey (Australian Institute for Machine Learning), * Julia Powles (UWA Minderoo Tech and Policy Lab) * Hugh Durrant-Whyte (NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer)

Maree Meredith (Flinders U) moves to Uni Canberra to become PVC Indigenous Leadership.

At James Cook U, Jenny Seddon will become DVC R in April. She moves from associate and deputy dean roles in the science faculty at Uni Queensland.

 The Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation announces its 2022 awards;

Life sciences: Joshua Ooi, Eric Morand (Monash U)

Physical sciences: Brian Abbey (La Trobe U), Belinda Parker (Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre)

Fellowships: * Dinh Bui (Uni Melbourne) * Sarah McColl-Gausden (Uni Melbourne) * Wenyi Li (Uni Melbourne) * Remika Mito (Florey Institute) * Tuan Nguyen (Uni Melbourne) * Leona Pascoe (Monash U) * Sampa Sarkar (RMIT) * Amin Soltani (Federation U) * Wei Tong (Uni Melbourne)  * Zhuoting (Lisa) Zhu (Centre for Eye Research)