Appointments, achievements

Of the day

At UWA Romola Bucks will act as PVC Health and Medical Research, starting January and for an expected six months.

 La Trobe U’s 2021 education awards include * Early Career Educator: Kate Mai (Accounting) *Sessionals: Rhys Ryan (Law) Abby Srivastava (Business) * Teaching: Haider Al Abadi (Engineering), Fernanda Nava Buenfil (Public Health), Dell Horey (Epidemiology), Bandita Mainali (Engineering), Joanne Marcucci (Public Health),  Scott Ruddock (Rehabilitation Counselling) Tom Samiric (Physiology), Colleen Thomas (Physiology), Debbi Weaver (Education Services), * Education impact: Robert Ross (Engineering). “Cultural qualities” awards go to, * Care: Science, Health, Engineering Placement Team and Van Hoang (Health, safety consultant). * Connected: Hannah Arnold (“Advising and success”) * Innovative: Connie Koklanis (Orthoptics) * Accountable: Justin Manzano (Contracts and grants)

Uni Melbourne located AsiaLink announces Martine Letts is its new CEO. Ms Letts moves from Committee for Melbourne.

The medical research institute formally known as Walter and Eliza Hall Institute announces joint winners of its 2021 Burnet Prize. Najoua Lalaoui (cell death) and Shalin Naik (“clonal fate of dendritic cells”).

Of the week

Stephen Brady becomes (interim) MD of TAFE NSW. He moves from COO of the NSW government’s Department of Customer Service.

Adam Bridgeman becomes interim DVC E at Uni Sydney, during recruiting to replace Pip Pattison who retires this month. Professor Bridgeman’s substantive position is PVC Education Innovation. His role will be covered by Danny Liu, as Academic Director (EI).

Uni Queensland deputy provost Tim Dunne is off to the University of Surrey – as of April he will be its provost and senior VP.

The Engagement Australia awards, were in CMM Monday, here.

Flinders U announces its (too numerous to mention) staff awards here.

Geoff Gourley (Impact Investment Fund) becomes chair of Swinburne U’s Innovation Precinct Advisory Board.

Andrew Gunstone (Swinburne U) becomes board co-chair of Reconciliation Victoria.

La Trobe U announces its research award winners, in CMM Thursday.

Gayle Milnes will become the National Data Commissioner when necessary legislation passes federal parliament. Ms Milnes is a senior federal bureaucrat. The commissioner regulates access to national government data.

National Party minister for regions Bridget McKenzie announces former Nats federal minister Fiona Nash is regional education commissioner. Ms Nash now advises Charles Sturt U on regional engagement and government relations.

Susan Robertson will become head of Monash U’s School of Education, Culture and Society. She will arrive from Uni Cambridge in June

Louise Ryan wins Macquarie U’s Moyal Medal for stats research. Professor Ryan is chief investigator at the ARC Centre of Excellence for Maths and Statistical Frontiers.

Lee Smith will move from Uni Newcastle (PVC Engineering, Science) to become Griffith U’s DVC R, in April

Garry Stewart (Flinders U) is honoured for lifetime achievement at the SA Government’s Ruby Awards, (for “arts and culture”).

Uni Sydney has two wins at the Public Relations Institute of Australia awards. There’s a gold for a regional comms campaign about studying medicine. The media and PR unit in the medicine faculty also won gold in the in-house team category.

Uni Sydney announces its 2022 Research Accelerator Fellows, here. Mathai Varghese (Uni Adelaide) is awarded the George Szekeres Medal by the Australian Mathematical Society.

Newish Victoria U VC Adam Shoemaker must be close to having his team in place. From next month Peter Radoll will be DVC People and Organisation at Victoria U. He moves from PVC Indigenous at Uni Canberra.  Andrew Hill also joins in January, moving from La Trobe U to become DVC Research and Impact.

Women in STEMM Australia announces two co-chairs, Madhu Bhaskaran (RMIT) and Sarah Chapman, a teacher in Cairns.