Appointments, achievements

Jim Nyand (ACU) has taken over as chair of Engagement Australia and Callista Thillou (Flinders U) is the new deputy chair. EA provides community engagement resources and research for 17 university and NUHEP members.

Matt Brett is leaving La Trobe U, where he is higher education policy manager. He is moving to Deakin U, to become director, academic governance and standards.

Cancer researcher Phoebe Phillips (UNSW) is a 2018 Eisenhower Fellow, which funds seven-week programme in the US. Venture capitalist Toby Heap is the other Australian fellow.

The two CSL Centenary Fellows are Connie Wong (Monash U) and Daniel Pellicci (Peter Doherty Insitute). Dr Pellicci will use his $1.25m to study “unconventional: T Cells in tuberculosis.  Dr Wong will use hers to investigate connections between brain and immune system.

Astrophysicist Lisa Harvey-Smith is the Commonwealth’s inaugural Women in STEM ambassador. She will “advocate for girls and women in STEM education careers.

The University of Queensland has won the education and training category in the Queensland Premier’s export awards for the work of the International Marketing and Recruitment and Admissions team.

Sue Keay from QUT is named by  Robohub one of 2018’s 25 women in robotics one needs to know about. Dr Keay is CEO of the university’s robotic vision centre.

The UK and Ireland Society for French Studies announces Natalie Edwards from the University of Adelaide is its 2018-19 international visiting fellow.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education