Appointments, achievements of the week

 WA Chief Justice Peter Quinlan joins the Curtin U law school advisory board.

The International Education Association of Australia has a new president, Melissa Banks (PVC I James Cook U). Emily O’Callaghan moves up to general manager. The indefatigable Phil Honeywood continues as CEO.

UNSW’s Martin Green has won the Global Energy prize for decades of work which have “revolutionised the efficiency and costs of solar photovoltaics, making this now the lowest cost option for bulk electricity supply”. The prize is funded by Russian energy companies. Professor Green shares the award with Sergey Alekseenko from the Russian Institute of Thermophysics.

Flinders U’s Sebastian Raneskold (PVC I) and colleagues have won the education and training category in the Business SA Export Awards.

The three 2018 winners of the Georgina Sweet Award for women in quantitative biomedical science are announced. Cornelia Landersdorfer (Monash U) works on combining doses of antibiotics to deal with multidrug-resistant bacteria. Ana Traven also atMonash U studies human fungal pathogens. Aleksandra Filipovska from UWA researchs in human mitochondrial genetics.

The Australian Academy of Heath and Medical Sciences has elected 37 new fellows, “in recognition of their outstanding contributions.

Ian Anderson Prime Minister & Cabinet. Amanda Baker, University of Newcastle. Gabrielle Belz Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. Kim Bennell, University of Melbourne. Lynne Bilston, Neuroscience Research Australia. John Carlin, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute. David Celermajer, University of Sydney. Enrico Coiera, Macquarie University. Mariapia Degli-Esposti, University of Western Australia. David Durrheim Health Protection, Hunter New England. Christopher Fairley, Alfred Health. Sean Grimmond, University of Melbourne. Margaret Hellard, Burnet Institute. Karin Jandeleit-Dahm Monash University. Cheryl Jones, University of Melbourne. Louisa Jorm, University of New South Wales. Jonathan Kalman, Royal Melbourne Hospital. Shitij Kapur, University of Melbourne. Anne Kelso, National Health and Medical Research Council. Stephen Kent, University of Melbourne. Martin Francis, University of Queensland. Stephen Leeder, Western Sydney Local Health District. Richard Lock, Children’s Cancer Institute. James McCarthy, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. John McHutchison Gilead Sciences Inc., California. John Miners, Flinders University. Donald Nutbeam, University of Sydney. Philip John O’Connell, Westmead Hospital.Marc Pellegrini, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. Kelly‐Anne Phillips, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Christopher Proud, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute. Bruce Robinson, University of Western Australia. Anthony Rodgers, The George Institute. Jo Salmon, Deakin University. Prashanthan Sanders University of Adelaide. David Thorburn, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute. Peter Wormald, University of Adelaide.

The proposed future battery Cooperative Research Centre has a CEO – Stedman Ellis, now WA COO of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association. The bid is short-listed for Round 19 funding and Mr Ellis is clearly keen on winning. Bid participant Curtin U reports he leaves APPEA Friday and starts with the proposed CRCnext Monday.

The International Education Association of Australia has announced its annual excellence awards, including; Gary Lee, City of Melbourne international student officer, David Riordan from the National Council for International Education, Anna Ciccarelli for career-long achievements, Amanda Muller (FlindersU), for a professional language development programme in nursing, Anton Crace, professional commentary, Daniel Toohey outstanding postgraduate thesis.



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education