Appointments, Achievements

Of the Day

Claire Bowers steps up to chief media wrangler at La Trobe University. She replaces Tim Mitchell who has moved to a Victorian Government comms role.

James Kesby (Uni Queensland) wins a prize for schizophrenia research from the (US) Brain & Behaviour Research Foundation.  In September Dr Kesby was named in the Young Tall Poppy science awards, (CMM September 16).

Lesley Forster started this week as inaugural dean of rural medicine at Charles Sturt U. She joined from UNSW where she was assistant dean – rural health

Uni Adelaide clinical senior lecturer James Muecke is SA Australian of the Year. Dr Muecke is an eye surgeon.

Yuval Yarom (Uni Adelaide and CSIRO Data61) wins the Chris Wallace Award for a post-doc computer science researcher. It comes from the Computing Research and Education Association of Australasia.

Of the week

Academic integrity expert Tracey Bretag moves up to full professor at the University of South Australia.

Curtin U announced its professional staff service awards, Wednesday – winners are  here.

Felicity Davis (Mater Research, Uni Queensland) and James Hudson (Queensland Institute for Medical Research Berghofer) win the National Stem Cell Foundation’s Metcalf Prize for research.

Aliza Hunt (ANU) wins the Helen Barlett prize for innovation in ageing research, awarded by Emerging Researchers in Ageing.

Marcia Langton (distinguished professor and associate provost, Uni Melbourne) and Tom Calma (chancellor, Uni Canberra) are co-chairs of the Commonwealth’s senior advisory group on the co-design process that will, “develop models to enhance local and regional decision-making and provide a voice for Indigenous Australians to government.”

Nicolette Lee is acting PVC – Educational Transformation at La Trobe U. She had something to say about the subject in CMM (July 13)

 Martina Linnenluecke (Macquarie U) and Tom Smith (Uni Queensland) (with Robert Whaley from Vanderbilt U), win one of journal giant Emerald’s 2019 author awards for “The unpaid social cost of carbon” in Accounting Research Journal.

Munjed Al Muderis is the 2020 NSW Australian of the Year. Associate Professor Al Muderis is an orthopaedic surgeon at Macquarie University Hospital

UNSW climate scientist Andy Pitman wins the Royal Society of Victoria’s Medal for Excellence in Scientific Research.

Andrew Stewart joins ANU’s Australian War College in January as the principal of the military and defence studies programme. He moves from King’s College London.

Mark Sutherland is confirmed as ED of the Council of Australian University Librarians. He has been acting since June.

 Belinda Tiffen will become Macquarie U librarian in January. Dr Tiffen will move from UTS.

Kylie Walker is the new CEO of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. She leaves Science and Technology Australia next month.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education