Appointments, achievements

AsiaLink (at Uni Melbourne) announces its list of the 40 most influential Asian-Australians aged under 40 (as selected by a learned panel); it includes Muneera Bano (software engineering, Swinburne U), Eddie Woo (maths education evangelist, NSW Department of Education and Uni Sydney). Meru Sheel, (epidemiologist, ANU).

Barney Dalgarno will become the University of Canberra’s executive dean of education in the new year. He moves from Charles Sturt U, where he is deputy PVC learning and teaching.

The Heads of Departments and Schools of Psychology group has a new executive. Renata Meuter QUT) is in-coming chair, replacing Stephen Kent (La Trobe U). Lorelle Burton (Uni Southern Queensland) takes over from Aspro Meuter as deputy. Carla Litchfield from Uni SA replaces Julie Ann Pooley (Edith Cowan U) as secretary. Karena Burke (CQU) continues treasurer and Nigel Bond (Western Sydney U) as executive officer.

  Anthony Koutoulis is appointed DVC R at the University of Tasmania, he is now acting in the post. Professor Koutoulis joined Uni Tas in 1996, he is a molecular biology researcher.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education