The Tasmanian Government announces its STEM awards.  Michael Breadmore  (U Tas, chemistry) is researcher of the year. Hoang Phan (Menzies Institute for MR, research on health inequalities in treatment/outcome of strokes) is young researcher. David Bowman (U Tas, for advocacy during last summer’s fires) is STEM communicator and Tim Gale (U Tas) is innovator of the year, representing the team that designed the Oxygenie automated oxygen control system for infants.