Appointments, achievements

The Australian Business Deans Council announces the winners of its inaugural awards

Professional management: Hayley Harkin, and “additional team members”, Benji Zorella, Elisa Cassin (Swinburne U)

International education: Andrew Paltridge and Ashleigh Burns (QUT)

Teaching and learning: Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne (Macquarie U)

Research: Helen Nguyen (Uni Sydney) with Sharon Parker (Curtin U), Markus Groth (UNSW), Anya Johnson (Uni Sydney), Karyn Wang (Uni Sydney) and Shanta Dey (Uni Sydney)

The Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association announces the 2020 Sidney Sax Medal for development/improvement of healthcare. Joint winners are the ANU’s Bushfire Impact Working Group and Patricia Turner, from the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation.

Thomas King leaves Griffith U, where he is deputy chief digital officer. He moves to Microsoft to be industry executive for HE.

Helen Milroy (UWA) and Gordon Parker (UNSW) are joint winners of the Australian Mental Health Prize for 2020.

John Wardle Architects is a winner in the education category of the National Architecture Awards for Uni Melbourne’s Ian Potter Southbank Centre. So is Lyons, with Silver Thomas Hanley, for Curtin U’s Midland campus project.




to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education