Three academics are short-listed for the Women’s Agenda web-hub’s emerging public sector female leader award. Abeer Alsadoon is an IT research scientist at Charles Sturt U. Also from CSU, Faye McMillan researches Indigenous Health. Amy Thunig is an associate lecturer at Macquarie U with a PhD on Indigenous women academics.

Newell Johnson, from Menzies Health Institute Queensland, at Griffith U, receives a one-off honour from the University of Peradinyar, in Sri Lanka, for 50 years of joint research projects, publications and supervising PhDs, all in dentistry.

Ed tech provider Blackboard announces its 2019 awards for teaching, learning and student engagement;

Student success: Shashidhar Venkatesh Murthy and Andrew Gavan (James Cook U)

Professional development: Nikki Meller (Western Sydney U) and Mark Northover, Nell Buissink, John Davies, Herewini Easton, Piki Diamond, Emily Whitehead, (Auckland U T)

Leading change: Kulari LokugeIan Rorke, Sharon Whippy, Paul Hellwge, Nathan Fitzgerald, Vy Tran, Divya Srinivas, Louis Doug An, Julia Vanuchchi, Sohail Aslam, Prateek Jindal, Estha Hanning Su, Amit Vij, Emily Takayama, (Monash College)


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education