Accord “cast of thousands”

Not quite, but Jason Clare appears keen not to leave any interest unrepresented

The education minister has announced the ministerial reference group for the Universities Accord. The group, “will be a sounding board and a source of advice” to the Accord team. Members are,


* Georgia Beatty (National Union of Students) * Tony Cook (DoE) * Anthony Chisholm (education assistant minister) * Verity Firth (UTS) * Cathy Foley (Chief Scientist) * Pat Forward (former Australian Education Union official) * Paul Harpur (Uni Queensland) * Andrew Norton (ANU) * Mary O’Kane (Accord chair) * Lester Rigney (Uni SA) * Taylah Roberts (Rural Youth Ambassador) * Misha Schubert (Science and Technology Australia) * Michael Wesley (Uni Melbourne)


* Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry * Australian Education Union * Australian Industry Group * Australian Technology Network * Business Council of Australia * Council of Small Business Organisations Australia *  Group of Eight * Independent Higher Education Australia * Independent Tertiary Education Council of Australia * Innovative Research Universities * International Education Association of Australia * Jobs and Skills Australia * National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Consortium * National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education * National Tertiary Education Union * Regional Universities Network* TAFE Directors Australia * Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency *Universities Australia* Universities Chancellors Council

“They’ll need a coliseum-size space if this lot ever assemble”, a learned reader remarks.