Wins at work this week

Iain Young will become dean of science at the University of Sydney in July. Professor Young moves up from leading the university’s School of Life and Environmental Sciences.

Griffith U VC Ian O’Connor is the new chair of the Higher Education Standards Panel, replacing Peter Shergold. The HESP advises government on quality and standards.

Other new HESP members are  Kerri-Lee KrauseDon Owers, Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Sadie Heckenberg, Kent Anderson (UWA). Phil Honeywood and Krystal Evans continue as members.

Alan Lopez from the University of Melbourne has jointly won the John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award for his work with Christopher Murray from the University of Washington. The pair co-founded the Global Burden of Disease study, which started in the ‘90s and is still running.

Kathryn Hayward from the Florey Institute is a winner of a Bayer Foundation €30 000 early excellence in science award.

Helen Lochead, dean of built environment at UNSW,  is the incoming president elect of the Australian Institute of Architects.

Christopher Lawrence is appointed inaugural director of indigenous engagement in the faculty of engineering and IT at UTS.

Hillary Winchester joins the Australian Institute of Business as chair of academic board.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education