UQP’s brilliant career

Although, it’s been a while between wins

Melissa Lucashenko wins the 2019 Miles Franklin Award, for her novel, Too Much Lip published by University of Queensland Press.

It’s a first for her and a third for the press, the other two wins being for Peter Carey novels, in 1989 (Oscar and Lucinda) and 1998 (Jack Maggs). The only other university press to publish a Miles Franklin winner is UWA Press, for Josephine Wilson’s Extinctions (2017).


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education