UoQ senate election

The University of Queensland senate election outcomes are announced.

Academic staff reps: Greg Hainge (School of Languages and Culture), Tony Roberts (maths)

General staff rep: Rebecca Hurst (School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry)

Undergraduate: Zachary Thomas

Postgraduate: Thomas Mackay

Graduates: Dimity Dornan (speech pathologist), Douglas Cavaye (vascular surgeon), Katherine Hirschfield (chemical engineer)

However, the University senate is no workers soviet. Last week state governor Paul de Jersey reappointed five members of senate; Timothy Crommelin, Philip Hennessy, Zelle Hodge, Jamie Merrick and Grant Murdoch. Governor de Jersey also appointed three new members, UoQ graduates Julieanne Alroe, Sally Pitkin and Cecile Wake.

There are three official members, the chancellor, VC and president of academic board, eight appointed members appointed by the government, eight elected members and three members appointed by the Senate.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education