Uni Sydney Payne-Scott professors lead appointments, achievements

The University of Sydney announces the third group of Payne-Scott professors, nominated by colleagues for academic achievement and contribution to the university community. This year’s awards go to; Louise Baur (child health), Phyllis Butow (psychology), Stefan Williams (engineering) and Hala Zreiqat (engineering). The programme is named for UniSydney graduate, physicist and radio astronomer , Ruby Payne-Scott.

Parisa Glass from the George Institute for Global Health is appointed guest of the chair at the MedTech and Pharma Growth Centre. She will attend board meetings and “interact” with directors and senior managers.

Elisa Martinez-Marroquin is appointed academic board chair at the University of Canberra for three years, commencing January 1.

Science and Technology Australia awards six scholarships for people to attend November’s Science Meets Parliament. Regional: Razia Shaik, Charles Sturt U. Andrew Harford, Department of the Environment and Energy. Indigenous: Chris Matthews, UTS. Djarra Delaney, Bureau of Meteorology. Pride Scholarship: Sarah Stephenson, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute. Daniel Heath, Uni Melbourne.

Michal Sprlak (School of Engineering, Uni Newcastle) wins the quadrennial Guy Bomford prize from the International Association of Geodesy.



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education