Three Aus unis dropped from Singapore medical education list

Doctors from Flinders U, Uni Newcastle and Uni Tas no longer wanted

Graduates of three Australian universities will not be accepted to practise medicine in Singapore from 2020. Flinders U, Uni Newcastle and Uni Tasmania are among medical schools worldwide dropped in a cull which reduces the roster by a third, to just over 100.

However, the Group of Eight remain on the Singapore list, with ANU, plus unis Adelaide, Melbourne, NSW, Queensland, Sydney, WA and Monash continuing accredited. Present students at the deleted three, or scheduled to start before February, are exempt.

The Singapore Ministry of Health  says the republic’s three medical schools increased intakes from 300 to 500 between 2010 and 2018 and “we expect our need to recruit overseas-trained doctors to moderate and stabilise in the coming years.”

But adding insult to injury, the ministry also mentions it, “took into consideration various factors including international and national rankings of these universities, as well as performance of conditionally registered doctors from these universities, to ensure that the quality of overseas-trained doctors practising in Singapore locally remains high.”


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education