The great state of NSW history

The State Library of NSW announces funding for research in its collections

Sally Young (Uni Melbourne) is awarded the $100 000 Coral Thomas Fellowship to write a history of the political and corporate power of Australian media dynasties.

David Hansen (ANU) has the Ross Steele Fellowship ($20 000) for a study of the acquisition/exhibition of 50-100 pictures in the Library’s collection.

Ben Huf (Uni Sydney) will use his $20 000 A M Hertzberg to explore the creation of Australia’s monetary system in colonial NSW.

Rebecca Jones is awarded the C H Currey Fellowship. She will use its $20 000 for a study of Australian responses to extreme weather.

Sophie Robinson’s (UNSW) Nancy Keesing Fellowship ($20 0000) will support her project on Sydney’s lesbian sub-culture in the ‘90s.

Clare Monagle (Macquarie U) will use the Australian Religious History Fellowship ($20 000) to research the emergence of Christian feminism.

Jarrod Hore (Macquarie U) receives the David Scott Mitchell Fellowship ($20 000) to explore the work of geologist William Branwhite Clark 1839-78.

James Boyce (U Tas) has the Merewether Fellowship ($20 000) to research competing visions for NSW in the Macquarie years, in the context of settlers subsuming Aboriginal land.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education