Second set of SAGE gender-equity institutions

The Science in Australia Gender Equity project expands with 13 universities and research institutions receiving Athena SWAN bronze awards

The UK originating Athena SWAN project provides a framework for institutions to create cultural and structural changes for gender equity. SAGE is a partnership of the Australian Academy of Science and Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

Awards go to, * ANU. * Deakin U. * Federation U. * Flinders U. * La Trobe U.  * Macquarie U.

* RMIT.  * South Australian HMRI. * George Institute. * Uni Queensland. *  Uni SA. * Uni Sydney. * Western Sydney U

This is the second pilot group. The first, announced in December was *ANSTO. * Baker HDI. * Charles Sturt U. * CSIRO. * Curtin U. * Edith Cowan U. * Griffith U. * Monash U. * Swinburne U. * QUT. * UNSW. *Uni Newcastle. * UTS. * Uni Wollongong. * Walter and Eliza Hall.

Outcomes for a third are expected before year end.

Accreditation is based on institutions adopting ten principles covering issues including; gender-based pay, employment conditions and tenure and organisational commitment and activity on gender-equality.

Peer review moderation is conducted by fellows of the two academies.



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education