Science perspectives in parly house

The first ten scientists charged with advising MPs on STEM are named. The new Science and Technology Australia programme is intended to “build in-principle support among Australia’s political leadership for a thriving Australian STEM sector,” but not lobby for partisan or pet causes ( CMM May 3). STA will support its ambassadors with training sessions on how to speak to a politician.
The first ten are: Robert Acres (Australian Synchrotron), Bryony Horton (NSW Office of Environment and Heritage), Sarah Chapman (Queensland Department of Education Queensland), Candice Raeburn (Engineers Without Borders), Kenneth Silburn (Casula High School, NSW), Simon Mutch (UniMelbourne), Peter Howley (UniNewcastle), Shafique Pineda (Commonwealth Department of Industry, Innovation and Science), Charity Mundava (WaterNSW) and Helen Blanchard (Griffith University).
They will advise are eight Labor and two Coalition MPs, Nationals Luke Hartsuyker and assistant minister for training, Karen Andrews. This isn’t party preference, it reflects the allegiance of MPs who put their hands up for an informal advisor.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education