Primus inter pares

The Australian Association of University Professors has elected its inaugural executive

Manuel Graeber (neuropathology, Uni Sydney) is president. Jill Blackmore (education, Deakin U) is VP. James Guthrie (accounting, Macquarie U) is treasurer. Corneel Vandelanotte (physical educ, CQU) is  secretary).

The association exists, “to ensure academic principles including academic freedom are upheld across Australian universities, and to support individuals and groups in efforts to ensure that the Australian university system maintains the highest standards in research and teaching.”