NSW Science awards announced

Nick Talley is NSW Scientist of the year. The University of Newcastle neurogastroenterologist is awarded $60 000. Professor Talley is the fourth UniNewcastle winner in the award’s 11 years.

University of Sydney researchers also did well at the NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering, winning five of the other nine $5000 awards which went to;

Maths, earth sciences, chemistry, physics: Dietmar Müller (UniSydney). Biological sciences: Alex McBratney UniSydney. Medical biology: Richard Harvey (UNSW). Engineering/ICT: Branka Vucetic (UniSydney). Energy innovation: Xiaojing (Jeana) Hao (UNSW). Early career researcher: James (Mac) Shine (UniSyd). Innovation: Anthony Weiss (UniSydney). Innovation in public sector science and engineering: Cathy Offord (Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust). Innovation in science and maths teaching: Heidi Hammond (East Hills Girls Technology High School)


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education