NSW Premiers science and engineering awards

The NSW Premier’s awards in science and engineering are announced.

Scientist of the Year: Gordon Wallace, University of Wollongong

Biological Sciences: Edward Holmes, University of Sydney

Medical Biological Sciences: Sally Dunwoodie, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute

Engineering and ICT: Sarah Johnson, University of Newcastle

Energy Innovation: Brett Hallam, UNSW

Early Career Researcher: Susan Hua, University of Newcastle

Innovation: Maria Kavallaris, UNSW Sydney

Innovation in NSW Public Sector Science and Engineering: Wayne O’Connor, NSW Department of Primary Industries

Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education: Brett Mckay

It’s a big year for professors Wallace and Holmes. Professor Wallace was made an AO for his polymer research in the Australia Day honours. Professor Holmes became a foreign member of the Royal Society in May and in June was appointed an ARC Laureate Fellow (with $3.4m for his research.) Mr McKay is having an excellent October. Last week he won the Prime Minister’s science prize for secondary teaching.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education