Hon doc for the great Adam Goodes leads appointments, achievements

Of the day

Uni SA continues its practise of thoughtful hon docs. Next week AFL great Adam Goodes is honoured for his “human rights advocacy, his ongoing fight against racism and the support he gives young Aboriginal people.” The university already has a programme for high achieving Indigenous students named for Mr Goodes and his fellow Swans star Michael O’Loughlin. Nice that the ceremony will be in the university’s great hall, funded in part by a $5m gift from Swans chairman and Uni SA alumnus, Andrew Pridham ( CMM October 21 2016).

QUT appoints two new members of its council, former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner, Mick Gooda and medical researcher and technology innovator Susan Pond.

UWA reports the Perth Festival (which it founded and funds) has a new chair, businessman Tim Ungar.

And of the week

Julie-Anne White is the new CIO of industry grop BioMelbourneDr White has a doctorate in psychopharmacology and broad experience in pharma-med tech start-ups. She starts next month, replacing Krystal Evans who announced her departure last December.

Alan Davison becomes dean of arts and social sciences at UTS. He has been deputy dean, then acting dean since 2017.

Uni Queensland announces its student sports awards. Swimmer Lakeisha Patterson is sportswoman of the year and touch footballer Justin Cridland, is sportsman. Ms Patterson won two golds at last year’s Comm Games. Mr Cridland represented Australia at the 2018 Trans-Tasman championship.

The Australian Academy of Science announces its J G Russell Awards for early career researchers. Giulia Ghedini (Monash University) ecological communities responses to global warming, Yu Heng Lau (Uni Sydney) technology to control chemical reactions on nanoscale, Tatiana Soares da Costa  (La Trobe U) herbicide development strategies for weed management and Qi Wu  (Uni Adelaide) Artificial Intelligence (AI) agent that communicates with humans on the basis of visual input

Saul Newman will join Flinders U as Dean (people and resources) in the Humanities and Social Sciences collegeProfessor Newman will move from Goldsmiths, University of London.  where he is professor of political theory.

Katherine Gibson will be the 2020-21 Whitlam-Fraser visiting professor of Australian studies at Harvard University. The chair is funded by the Australian Government. Professor Gibson is a feminist economic geographer at Western Sydney University.

Diane Herz is in-place as CEO of the ANU Enterprises subsidiary, the Social Research Centre. She joins from the Washington-based Mathematica Policy Research, prior to which she was a long-serving executive at the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. She replaces SRC founder Darren Pennay, who has retired. The SRC is widely-admired for the Quality Indicators for Learning and Teaching which it creates for the Commonwealth.

The Australian Business Deans Council announce panels for the 2019 journal review;

AccountingGary Monroe, (UNSW, chair). Neil Fargher, (ANU). Alan Lowe (RMIT). Anne Wyatt (Uni Queensland).

Info systemsDeborah Bunker, (Uni Sydney, chair). Alexander Richer (Victoria U of Wellington). Sabine Matook (Uni Queensland). John Venable (Curtin U).

Business and tax lawJulie-Anne Tarr (QUT, chair). Lisa Marriot (VU of Wellington). Brett Freudenberg (Griffith U). Jenny Buchan (UNSW).

Management, commercial services, transport and logistics:  Ingrid Nielsen (Deakin U, chair). Neil Ashkanasy (Uni Queensland). Shayne Gary (UNSW). Jane Lu (Uni Melbourne). Tava Olsen (Uni Auckland). Adrian Wilkinson (Griffith U). Chris Wright (Uni Sydney).

Other management (sub panel): Ingrid Nielsen (Deakin U, chair). Jarrod Haar (Auckland U Tech). Gavin Jack (Monash U).

EconomicsJames Morley (Uni Sydney,chair). Philip Grossman (Monash U). Rasheda Khanam (Uni Southern Queensland). Pascalis Raimondos (QUT). Sandy Suardi (Uni Wollongong).

FinanceStephen Taylor (UTS, chair). Millicent Chang (Uni Wollongong). Hazel Bateman(UNSW). Jerry Parwada (UNSW).

Marketing and tourism:  Sara Dolnicar, Uni Queensland, chair). Geoff Soutar (UWA). Jungkeun Kim (Uni Auckland). Marianna Sigala (Uni SA).

The Australian Academy of the Humanities announces a reference group for its arts and culture lobby A New Approach;  Rupert Myer (philanthropist) chairswith members Kim Allom (video games developer), Jane Curry (publisher) John Daley (Grattan Institute),Genevieve Lacey (musician), Shelagh Magadza (Chamber of Arts and Culure WA),Damien Miller (diplomat), Alison Page (designer), Laura Tingle (journalist), Mathew Trinca (National Museum of Australia).


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education