Heads Up: wins at work this week


Cathy Sherry from UNSW is the academic of the year in trade journal Lawyers Weekly 2017 Women in Law awardsMarija Yelavich from Western Sydney U is student of the year.

The University of Sydney has a new dean of veterinary science. Frazer Allan will take over in February. He is now DVC Engagement at Victoria University of Wellington.

The NSW Premier’s awards in science and engineering are announced.

Scientist of the Year: Gordon Wallace, University of Wollongong

Biological Sciences: Edward Holmes, University of Sydney

Medical Biological Sciences: Sally Dunwoodie, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute

Engineering and ICT: Sarah Johnson, University of Newcastle

Energy Innovation: Brett Hallam, UNSW

Early Career Researcher: Susan Hua, University of Newcastle

Innovation: Maria Kavallaris, UNSW Sydney

Innovation in NSW Public Sector Science and Engineering: Wayne O’Connor, NSW Department of Primary Industries

Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education: Brett Mckay


The 2017 L’Oreal Women in Science ANZ Fellowships are announced. The winners receive $25 000 for a 12-month project. They are:

Matire Harwood who studies the health of Indigenous communities at the University of Auckland.

Jaclyn Pearson from the Hudson Institute of Medical Research for research on inflammatory bowel disease.

Jacq Romero from the University of Queensland who uses light to create quantum encoding systems (sorry, CMM has no clue).

Stephanie Simonds at Monash U works on the link between cardiovascular disease and obesity.

Deborah Williamson, from the Peter Doherty Institute is funded for work on antibiotic resistance


Monash U has named its 2017 alumni distinguished fellows:

Greg Baxter, Chief Digital Officer, MetLife

Richard Bolt, Victorian public servant

Anna Burke, former MP and speaker of the House of Representatives

Graham Cunningham, Victorian government financial adviser

Dale Fisher, chief executive, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Dimitra Manis, HR chief, Revlon

Elaine Rodrigo, chief strategist, Danone

Tang Kim Chuen, president satellite systems, Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited

Greg Vines deputy DG  International Labour Organisation

Former federal minister Bruce Billson and Monash U economist John Nieuwenhuysenwere made honorary fellows


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education