HEADS UP: wins at work this week

Edith Cowan U has appointed a retired air vice marshal to lead its “push into the defence sector.” Andrew Dowse is the first director of defence research and engagement.

The University of Queensland 2017 awards for teaching excellence go to: Chris Landorf (architecture), Barbara Maenhaut (maths and physics) and Timothy McIntyre (maths and physics)

The ACT Tall Poppy scientists of the year are Julie Banfield (ANU astrophysicist) and Dave Pasalich (ANU child psychologist). Others awarded are Niruthikha Mahendranm(University of Canberra neurological physiotherapist) and Kai Xun Chan (ANU plant scientist) – he is also ACT scientist of the year.

The federal government has appointed Kylie Walker chair of the Australian commission for UNESCO. Ms Walker is CEO of the lobby Science and Technology Australia.

Engineering at the University of Sydney has created a new engagement role with robotics professor Salah Sukkarieh appointed associate dean industry and innovation.

Anna Reid is elected for a five-year term at the Beijing based Global Music Education League, established in September. Professor Reid is head of school at the University of Sydney’s Conservatorium of Music.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education