HEADS UP: Winners this week at work

Sarah Pearson from the University of Newcastle will represent Australia in the Mexico, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Turkey and Australia innovation group. Foreign Minister Julie Bishop announced Dr Pearson’s appointment yesterday. The MIKTA, “aims to increase mutual understanding, deepen bilateral ties and find common grounds for cooperation.” Dr Pearson joined UniNewcastle in March, becoming PVC Industry Engagement and Innovation (CMM March 22).

Linden Ashcroft and Kelly McKinley are joint winners of the 2018 Moran Award for History of Science ResearchDr Ashcroft will study the motivation and findings of Australian weather observers before the creation of the Bureau of Meteorology in 1908. Ms McKinley, a PhD student at the University of Adelaide will study Australian attitudes to genetic modification starting in the ‘70s.

Curtin University has named Kingsley Dixon and Steven Tingay, John Curtin Distinguished ProfessorsProfessor Dixon was WA Scientist of the Year in 2016. Professor Tingay was WA Science Ambassador in 2012.

The University of Western Australia Business School Board has new members, much like the old ones. Shell Australia’s chairman Zoe Yujnovich joins the board replacing a member who is standing down, former Shell Australia Chairman Andrew Smith. Incoming Wesfarmers managing director Rob Scott replace present Wesfarmers MD Richard Goyder. And CEO-elect of grain coop CBH Group Jimmy Wilson rejoins the board.

The National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education, at Curtin University, has announced its 13 research grants for 2017

Lead researchers and projects are:

Natalie Lloyd (Curtin U): how communities in engineering can increase equity group participation in the industry.

Robin Barnes (UniTas): impact of positive community attributes on regional students participation in higher education

Bernadette Walker-Gibbs (Deakin U): aspiration and outcomes in low SES students first university assessment

Lisa Hartley (Curtin U): barriers and support in accessing higher education for people seeking asylum

Jenny Gore (Deakin U): role of communities in shaping student aspirations toward higher education

Sarah O’Shea (UniWollongong): a “digital story telling” exploration of attrition in a low SES regional cohort

Wojtek Tomaszewski (UofQueensland): socioeconomic outcomes of graduates from advantaged/disadvantaged students

Ryan Naylor (LaTrobe U): institutional culture and structural bias in support/retention of low SES students

Fiona Shalley (Charles Darwin U): Indigenous student completion rates at two regional universities

Andrew Harvey (La Trobe U): design principles to protect student equity in performance based funding

Matt Brett (La Trobe U): establishing baseline data on student demographics and outcomes of students enrolled via third party providers and non university providers as basis for analysis of performance funding, sub bachelor programmes and provider category reform

Deanna Grant-Smith (QUT): low SES participation in postgraduate study and outcomes after completion

Ian Li (UWA): comparison of equity/non equity student pathways after graduation




to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education