HEADS UP: winners of the working week

Jenny Roberts will become DVC Students at Charles Sturt U in November. Ms Roberts will move from CQU where she is DVC student experience and governance.

Jodieann Dawe is head of Flinders U’s “new look research entity.” The old Research Office is “transformed” taking on responsibility for IP and commercialisationMs Dawe joins from the estimable National Centre for Vocational Education Research, where she has managed research and engagement since June 2015.

Josephine Wilson is the 2016 Miles Franklin award winner. Dr Wilson is a sessional staff member at Curtin University, teaching creative writing.

Flinders U has filled the leadership role at another of the colleges created in its new structure. Vanessa Lemm will become executive dean of the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences in January. She will move from UNSW where she heads the school of humanities and languages. Professor Lemm is a philosopher.

Monash pharmacy dean Bill Charman is reappointed chair of the International Pharmaceutical Federation.

The Academy of Social Sciences has elected 46 new fellows. They are:

Xuemai Bai, environment and ecology, ANU. Eileen Baldry, criminology, UNSW, Michael Blakeney, law, UWA. Roland Bleiker, political science, UoQ. Sidney Bloch AM, psychiatry, UniMelbourne. Frank Bongiorno, history, ANU. Peter Bossaerts, finance and neuroscience UniMelbourne. Nicholas Brown, history, ANU. Rebekah Brown, sustainable development, MonashU. Ross Buckley, law,UNSW. Victoria Burbank, social sciences, UWA

Linda Connor, anthropology UniSydney. Kim Cornish, neurosciences, MonashU.

 Megan Davis, law, UNSW. Heather Douglas, law, UoQ.

 Lata Gangadharan, economics, Monash U. Christopher Gibson, human geography, Uni of Wollongong. Cristina Gibson, management, UWA. Katharine Gelber, politics, UoQ. Ross Gittins, economics editor, Sydney Morning HeraldLee Godden, law, UniMelbourne.

Vedi Hadiz, Asian studies, UniMelbourne. Charmine E.J. Härtel, business, UoQ. John Hewson AM, tax and transfer policy, ANU.

 Craig Jeffrey, India studies, UniMelbourne.

 Carol T. Kulik, human resources, UniSA.

 Anne Lillis, accounting, UniMelbourne. Deborah Lupton, media and comms UniCanberra.  Elinor McKone, psychology, ANU. Klaus Neumann, Professor of History, School of History, Faculty of Arts and Education, Deakin University.

 Melanie Oppenheimer, history, Flinders University.

 Alan Petersen, sociology, Monash Uni, Jane Pirkis, mental health UniMelbourne. Jason Potts, economics, RMIT University.

 Rick Richardson, psychology, UNSW. Garry Robins, psychology, UniMelbourne. John Rolfe, economics, CQ University.

 Louise Sharpe, psychology, UniSydney. Naomi Soderstrom, accounting, UniMelbourne. David Stanton, public policy, ANU. Adrienne Stone, UniMelbourne, law. Joffre Swait, consumer psychology, Uni of South Australia.

Stephen Taylor, accounting, UTS. Russell Tytler, science education, Deakin U.

Beth Webster, innovation Swinburne U. Stephen Zubrick, education, UWA


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education