Guardians of the university-verse

The university representatives on the government’s taskforce, “to protect universities from foreign interference” are selected

Word is they include;

Peak lobby CEOs Catriona Jackson (Universities Australia) and Vicki Thomson (Group of Eight) with vice chancellors; Martin Bean (RMIT), John Dewar (La Trobe U), Peter Hoj (Uni Queensland ) and Alex Zelinsky (Uni Newcastle).

It’s a carefully considered collection. Ms Jackson represents universities as a whole, Ms Thomson, the universities that generate most research. Mr Bean is an ex Microsoft global manager, Professor Dewar is a veteran policy reviewer. Professor Hoj leads a top three research university. As for Professor Zelinsky, before joining his university late last year he was chief defence scientist.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education