Group of Eight wins 60 per cent of Discovery Projects

Education Minister Simon Birmingham will today announce Australian Research Council grants for the Discovery, Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards, Discovery Indigenous, Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities and Linkage Learned Academies Special Projects programmes.

In the large Discovery Projects category some 34 universities share $225m across 594 projects. The Group of Eight devours most of the grants, accounting for 365. UNSW won 64 from the University of Queensland with 57 followed by the University of Sydney with 55. Monash and the University of Melbourne were level on 54 each, ANU secured 38, the University of Western Australia won 25 and Adelaide trailed with 21.  All up the Go8 universities won just over 60 per cent of Discovery projects.

Leading ATN institutions were UTS (26), QUT (23), Curtin (18) and RMIT (14). The University of Tasmania had a good round, winning 20 grants.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education