Dewar from La Trobe and Vann from CSU lead appointments, achievements

John Dewar (VC La Trobe U) and Andrew Vann (VC Charles Sturt U) have two-year terms as deputy chairs of Universities Australia. Deborah Terry (VC Curtin U) recently commenced as chair. This is Professor Vann’s second term and the first for Professor Dewar. The posts are filled by consensus.

Benjamin Kile become executive dean of the University of Adelaide’s health and medical sciences faculty.  He moves from Monash U where he is head of the school of anatomy and development biology.  Andrew Zannettino is incoming ED for research strategy at the Central Adelaide Local Area Health Network, which is a joint appointment with Uni Adelaide. He is now interim executive dean of health and medical sciences.

Francine Marques from Monash U is awarded the American Heart Association’s hypertension meeting’s Harry Goldblatt Award for New Investigators.

The South Australian science award shortlists are announced

Scientist of the year: Andre Luiten, physics and precision management, Uni Adelaide. Emily Hilder, analytic chemistry, Uni SA. Jozef Gecz, genetics, Uni Adelaide. Sharad Kumar, biomedicine, Uni SA.

Research collaboration: ARC Training Centre for Innovative Wine Production (Uni Adelaide and a bunch of partners). (The former) Data to Decision CRC, succeeded by spin-out company Fivecast.

PhD research: Jenna Crowe-Riddell, marine snakes, Uni Adelaide. Dorothea Dumuid, stats models of lifestyle and heath, Uni SA. Tahnee Dening, water-soluble drug molecules, Uni SA.

STEM educator (tertiary): Tom Raimondo, geology and geochemistry, Uni SA. Beth Loveys, plant science. Uni Adelaide. Karen Lower, human genetics, Flinders U.

STEM educator (schools): Sonya Arnold, Seymour College. Anthea Ponte, Hawthornedene Primary.  Sarah Finney, Stirling East Primary.

STEM professional: James Tickner, x-ray and photon-assay technology, Chyros Corporation. Gresley Wakelin-King, spatial relationships in geo-science, Wakelin Associates.  Mark Skanes, STEM-related engineering, Dommar Pty Ltd

Murdoch U announces its 2018 staff awards

Senate Medal: Frances Brigg (technical officer WA Agricultural Biotechnology Centre).

Professional Services: Elizabeth Oliver, Joanne Hally, Julie Robinson, Clare Walters and Jackie Brown (Clinical placement team)

Learning and Teaching: Mike van Keulen (plant sciences, marine biology)

Learning and Teaching (early career): Dr Melissa Merchant (School of Arts)

Australian Awards for University Teaching, citation: Mary Anne Kenny (law)

Australian Awards for University Teaching, enhancing learning: Caroline Nilson, Martin Hopkins, Prue Andrus, Helen Dugmore, Cormac Norton (Bachelor of Nursing ePortfolio Learning Program)

Early Career Development and Achievement: Belinda Brown (Science, health, engineering and education)

Excellence in Research – development: Jeremiah Peiffer (graduate studies) and Dr Rachel Standish (ecology)

Excellence in Research – community impact: Meat Science Group

Distinguished and Sustained Research Achievement: Treena Burgess, (Science, Health, Engineering and Education) Helena Grehan (Arts, Business Law and Social Sciences), John Howieson (Crops and Plant Sciences)

20 years serviceSugeesh Ariyaratna, (data analyst) Regina Carr (research technician), Sue Hele, (librarian), Diane Lee (tourism), Chris Smyth, (Arts, Business, law and Social Sciences) Neisha Sullivan (Student records)

30 years serviceHelen Martin (IT services)

40 years serviceRoss O’Neil. Rosie Price (academic support)


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education