Bio brilliant and solar smart @ UNSW and QUT

A UNSW undergraduate team has won Harvard University’s Wyss Institute prize for biological engineering. Thilina De Silva (Chemical Engineering), Hugh Allison (Chemical Engineering), Jacob Silove (Physics/Law), Madeline Wainwright (Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences/Law), Lucien Alperstein (Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences) and Brian Ee (Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences/Music) “constructed nanoscale scaffolds made from DNA to try to artificially construct the HIV capsid, or protein shell surrounding the virus.” A UNSW team also won last year, with the Victor Chang Institute winning in 2014.

The Brisvegas Three announce the winners of their Global Business Challenge. Griffith U, QUT and the University of Queensland sponsored the contest for student teams to come up with “a sustainable solution” for “renewable energy”.

QUT MBA student Tim Larsen with University of Arizona colleagues Mary Dusek and Katherine Monberg won with a plan for a solar generator to run a house. A Griffith U team is second and students from Northeastern U in Boston Mass were third.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education