Big week for appointments, achievements

Of the day

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering announces board members. Elanor Huntington (CSIRO) joins. Iven Mareels (IBM) is elected for a second term. He continues as VP, financial sustainability.

At ANU Kylie Message becomes head of the Humanities Research Centre. She is a professor of digital humanities at the university.

The Australian Research Council announces the six researchers who are awarded research grants after successfully appealing exclusion for breaching the now-dropped ban on pre-print citations in applications. They are all in physics and astronomy related disciplines, Manisha Caleb DECRA (Swinburne U) * Caroline Foster, Future Fellowship (UNSW) * Ciaran O’Hare DECRA (Uni Sydney) * Mikolaj Schmidt, DECRA (Macquarie U).  ) * Simon Stevenson, DECRA (Swinburne U )  * Nora Tischler DECRA (Griffith U)

The NSW Premier’s Prizes for Science and Engineering are announced

James Patrick (Cochlear) is Scientist of the Year. Other winners are

* Richard Bryant (UNSW): innovation * Nicholas Carlile (NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment): joint winner, public sector innovation * Louise Causer (UNSW): early career researcher-biological sciences * Rona Chandrawati (UNSW): early career researcher-physical sciences  * Fang Chen (UTS): engineering, ICT  * Gregory Dore (UNSW): medical biological sciences * Terry O‘Dwyer (NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment): joint winner, public sector innovation * Cassandra Portelli (Hunter School of Performing Arts): teaching * Peter Steinberg (UNSW): biological sciences  * Shujun Zhang (Uni Wollongong): mathematics, earth sciences, chemistry or physics

Of the weekLouise 

 The Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education announces its new executive. Chris Campbell (Griffith U) continues as president, for a new two-year term. Michael Cowling (CQU) is VP, replacing Sue Gregory (UNE), who returns to a committee role. Mark Schier (UNE) continues as treasurer. Lisa Jacka (Uni Southern Queensland ) joins the committee, with returning members Sandy Barker (Uni SA), Thomas Cochrane (Uni Melbourne), Elaine Huber (Uni Sydney), Hazel Jones (Griffith U), David Porter (Uni Wollongong), Petrea Redmond (Uni Southern Queensland), and Kwong Nui Sim (Auckland Uni Technology).

ASCILITE also announces awards. The ever-energetic and generous with time and ideas Michael Sankey (Charles Darwin U) is 2021 Community Fellow. Other achievers include, * Chiu-Lin Lai (National Taipei Uni of Education) and Ruofei Zhang (Education Uni of Hong Kong) – distinguished reviewers * Keith Heggart (UTS) – emerging scholar * Laura Tubino (Deakin U), Samantha Clarke and team (Uni Sydney) –  innovation awards * Michael Henderson (Monash U) – life member.

The Australian Academy of the Humanities 2021 Fellows are in CMM here.

As are those of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, here

 Monash U announces Megan Galbally is new director of its Centre for Women’s and Children’s Mental Health. Professor Galbally will move from Perth, where she has multiple appointments, including at Murdoch U.

Griffith U combined its research, teaching and support awards into single event this year, making way-more announcements than CMM can fit. The complete list is here

James Guthrie (Macquarie U) joins the hall of fame of the Australian division of the Centre for Social and Environmental Accounting Research. Yes, that Guthrie, the one who scrutinises university financials in CMM.

The Higher Education Standards Panel has a new advisory committee on admissions info for PG/international students. It is chaired by Kerri Lee Krause (Avondale U) with members, * Sarah Bux (La Trobe U) * Catriona Jackson (Unis Aus) * Alistair Maclean (TEQSA) * Connie Merlino (RMIT) * Stuart Mossman (Australasian Conference of Tertiary Admission Centres) * Arshad Omari (Edith Cowan U) * Natalie Simmons (International College of Hotel Management) * Kathryn von Treuer (Cairnmillar Institute) * Martin Westwell (SA Certificate of Education Board)

 Monash U announces the VC’s awards, of which there are around 200 recipients, the list is here.

Nyadol Nyuon succeeds Kathy Laster as director of Victoria U’s Sir Zelman Cowen Centre (“legal education, training and research, with a particular focus on law and cultural diversity.”)

 Winners of the South Australian 2021 Science Awards include *Australian Institute for Machine Learning – Science-Industry Collaboration (Uni Adelaide) * Alicia Byrne – PhD research (Uni SA) * Justin Chalker (Flinders U) – innovator of the year * Giselle Rampersad (Flinders U) – STEMM Educator of the Year * Michala Short (Uni SA) – unsung hero * Shizhang Qiao (Uni Adelaide) Scientist of the Year * Graham Wegner – primary/secondary STEMM educator of the year (Prospect North Primary)

 Derek Scott (principal Haileybury School) is the new chair of the Australian Curriculum and Assessment Reporting Authority, appointed for a three-year term. He replaces Belinda Robinson.

Stephan Tillmann (pure maths, Uni Sydney) receives the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation, for research time at a German institution.

The University of Newcastle announces the (numerous) winners of its staff awardshere.