Australian Awards for University Teaching announced

The teacher of the year is multimedia whiz microbiologist Jack Wang from Uni Queensland

“Embracing life-long learning is something I instil in all my students. My teaching practise embraces technology and much like microbiology, is constantly evolving and adapting. I am always learning new skills in on-line communication and multi-media production and am focused on reaching as many students as I can,” he says.

Other awards go to:

CQU: Michael Cowling (teaching award)

Deakin U: John White, Raylene Cook, Mike Weston (graduates ready for conservation emergencies)

Edith Cowan U: Elle Banks, Rachelle Rechichi, Rita Barbour, Lyn Farrell (regional learning hubs)

Macquarie U: Matt Bower (teaching award)

Uni Queensland: Jack Wang (teaching award)

Uni SA:  The late (and much missed) Tracey Bretag (lifetime achievement)

UTS: Amanda White (teaching award)

Uni Wollongong: Amy Thompson, Kylie Austin, Holly Tupper, Sian Hulland, Jade Andrews, Jenna Thom, Ingrid Ferguson (co-curricular recognition framework)

Victoria U: Andrew Smallridge, John Weldon, Maxwell Winchester, Loretta Konjarski, Kathy Tangalakis, Alan McWilliams, Tom Clark, Puspha Sinnayah (block teaching model)