Appointments of the summer

In the week before Christmas, Industry, Science and Technology Minister Karen Andrews appointed the expert members of the new National Science and Technology Council, (CMM November 29).  They are, ANU VC and Nobel Prize winning astro physicist, Brian Schmidt, UoQ cervical cancer co-inventor Ian Frazer, ANU cultural anthropologist and technologist Genevieve Bell, University of Sydney mathematician Geordie Williamson, Griffith U DVC and metabolism and diabetes researcher Debra Henley.

Demonstrating Ms Andrews is not thin-skinned Professor Frazer, stars in the new Universities Australia comms campaign for applied research, released days before the government cut $238m from Research Block Grants in MYEFO.


Susan Dodds becomes DVC Research and Industry Engagement at La Trobe U. She joins from UNSW where she is dean of arts at UNSW.

Catherine Marks joins Bond U as VP Engagement. Ms Marks moves from the University of Swansea in the UK.

Tony Willis will become executive general manager of the Australian Research Council next month. Dr Wills joins from the National Health and Medical Research Council, replacing Leanne Harvey, who is moving to QUT as VP administration and registrar.

Elizabeth Labone is the new executive dean education and the arts at Australian Catholic U. She joined ACU in 2000.

Desiree Cai is the new president of the National Union of Students. She finished her term as president of the University of Melbourne student union in November.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education