Appointments, achievements of the week

The Royal Society, not the RS for this or that, the rolled-gold original Royal Society has elected eight ANZ/ANZ based fellows: Jillian Banfield (UniMelbourne). Margaret Brimble (UniAuckland). Frank Caruso (UniMebourne). Graeme Jameon (UniNewcastle). Ingrid Scheffer (UniMelbourne). Michelle Simmons (UNSW). Peter Visscher (UofQ). Geordie Wiliamson (UniSydney).  The Royal Society says that Professor Williamson, at 36, is its youngest living fellow.

Murray Hurps joins UTS as director of entrepreneurship. He is a former chief of Sydney start-up facility Fishburners.

University of the Sunshine Coast is very pleased that David Schoeman, Tim Smith and Patrick Nunn are “selected as global authors of a report that will inform every government in the world on climate change,”  – along with the other 718 scientists selected to work on the Intergovernment Panel on Climate Change’s sixth assessment report.

The government’s review of the public service will include University of Sydney chancellor Belinda Hutchinson and outgoing University of Melbourne VC Glyn Davis.

Margaret Gardner will continue as Monash U VC through to August 2024, bringing up a decade in the job.

Alan Boddy is appointed head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of South Australia. He joins from the pharmacy faculty at the University of Sydney.

Dan Grant will become CEO of MTP Connect in July. The federal government Industry Growth Centre “aims to accelerate the rate of growth” for medical technologies, biotechnologies and pharmaceuticals. He joins from La Trobe U where he is PVC industry engagement.

Marcia Devlin is to join Victoria U as DVC and senior VP, she will take charge of the university’s transformation office. Professor Devlin joins from RMIT.

 Vijaya Sundararajan joins La Trobe U next week preparatory to becoming new head of the department of public health in July. She now leads a research team at the University of Melbourne and St Vincent’s Hospital.

The ANU awards for excellence are announced. Winners for teaching are: Bronwyn Finnigan, philosophy, Fei Huang, finance, actuarial studies and statistics. Gemma King, literature, languages and linguistics and Shari Read, management.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education