Appointments, achievements of the week

The WA Scientists of the Year awards are announced. Peter Newman from Curtin University is scientist of the year and UWA’s emeritus professor David Blair is inducted to the state’s Hall of Fame. Melissa O’Donnell (Telethon Kids Institute and University of Western Australia is early career scientist. Arman Siahvashi (UWA) and Ryan Urquhart (Curtin U) are the student scientists of the year.

Madhu Bhaskaran from RMIT has won the ASPIRE science prize. The APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education is for research and cooperation with colleagues from APEC countries.

Ricky Johnstone is new executive director for cancer research at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Professor Johnstone is an 18-year Peter Mac veteran.

The University of Newcastle reports, “Australia’s leading nanotechnologist” Ajayan Vinu is to receive the Chemical Research Society of India’s medal. Professor Vinu leads the university’s centre for nanomaterials.

The ANU’s Rose Ahlefeldt is the ACT scientist of the yearDr Ahlefeldt researches materials to achieve the data storage quantum computers will need.

Trevor McDougall from UNSW is a new fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Macquarie U PVC (programmes and pathways) Sean Brawley is named a principal fellow of the teaching achievement organisation formerly known as the Higher Education Academy.

Cathy Foley is the new CSIRO chief scientist. She moves from science director and deputy director for manufacturing there.

Dianne Jolley will become the UTS dean of science in December. She leaves the University of Wollongong.

Jacqueline Tulk is the new campus director at La Trobe U’s (very flash) Sydney campusLTU Sydney is a Navitas-run pathway programme for the university. Ms Tulk joins from partner La Trobe Melbourne.

Theologian Zachariah Duke is moving from the Australian Institute of Theological Education to become assistant dean, academic at the Catholic Institute of Aotearoa New Zealand.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education