Appointments, achievements of the week

The ANZ Society of Nephrology have awarded the T J Neale Award (for a significant contribution) to two researchers, Meg Jardine (George Institute) and Angela Webster (Uni Sydney).

University of Canberra appoints Alice Tay and Dan Bourchier to its council. Chris Faulks is reappointed.

At Uni Newcastle Natalie Dowling (Engineering and Built Environment) is elected to the university council.

Jenny Fisher (Uni Wollongong) moves up to associate dean, equity, diversity and inclusion in the Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health

Jessica Kasza (Monash U) steps up from VP as new president of the Statistical Society of Australia.

Peter Leggat (James Cook U) is the new president of the Australasian College of Tropical Medicine

John Thwaites (Monash U) is a member of The Lancet’s COVID-19 Commission.

Barbra Timmer (Uni Queensland) wins the British Society of Audiology’s Jos Millar Prize (best article).

Stephen van Leeuwen takes Curtin U’s first Indigenous Chair in Biodiversity and Environmental Science.