Appointments, achievements of the week

Curtin U announces professors elevated to John Curtin distinguished professorships, “the highest honour (it) awards its academic staff”. Judith Finn, Keith Hill, Ottmar Lipp, Peter O’Sullivan from health sciences move up, with Brian Evans and Vishnu Pareek, from science and engineering.

Chris Hatherly is appointed executive director of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia. Dr Hatherly moves from policy director at the Australian Academy of Science.

John Bell will move from head of the school of chemistry, physics and mechanical engineering at QUT to DVCresearch and innovation at the University of Southern Queensland.

At QUT Susi Derbyshire (DVC learning and teaching) will retire at the end November. Alison Shirra is acting for six months as director of student services, while a replacement is recruited for Bruce McCallum, who will retire in June.

The Australian Academy of Science announced 22 new fellows Monday night. Full list in CMM’s Tuesday issue.


Nicholas Murray is the Australian nominee for the APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE). Dr Murray (UNSW) uses satellite data archives to research Asia-Pacific coastal eco-systems.


John Weckert from Charles Sturt U has received the International Association for Computing and Philosophy’s Covey Award for, “innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived.”

Alexia Moncrieff (now University of Leeds) receives the Australian War Memorial’s Brian Gandevia award for military-medical historyDr Moncrieff wins for her University of Adelaide PhD thesis on the Australian Army Medical Corps in WWI.

Vice Admiral Paul Maddison is appointed inaugural director of the UNSW Defence Research Institute. Mr Maddison is a former commander of the Royal Canadian Navy and was Canada’s high commissioner to Australia, 2015-19.

Laura Parry will move to the University of Adelaide to be head of the school of biological sciencesProfessor Parry is now an associate dean in the University of Melbourne’s science faculty.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education