Appointments, achievements of the week

The University of Sydney’s Nalini Joshi is elected one of two vice presidents of the International Mathematical Union for 2019-2022.

Curtin U has awarded an hon doc to edX founder Anant Agarwal. The university presents a range of MOOCs via edX.

Ian Martinus will lead Edith Cowan U’s “industry engagement efforts in cyber security.”  He has doctorate in information systems from ECU.

The government has appointed members of the Australian Research Council’s advisory panel to review how the ARC applies the national research prioritiesSue Thomas, ARC. Deborah Terry, Curtin U. David Lloyd, Uni South Australia. Kevin Hall, Uni Newcastle, Duncan Ivison, Uni Sydney. Lynley Marshall, Museums Victoria. Mark McKenzie, Council of Small Business Australia. Cindy Shannon, QUT. Chief Scientist Alan Finkel, NHMRC chair Anne Kelso and DET secretary Michele Bruniges are additional expert members.

Sally Kift is the 2019 visiting professorial fellow at the National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education