Appointments , achievements of the week

Universities Australia has presented Flinders U’s Callista Thillou with a lifetime achievement award at the UA marketing comms awards. “She has dedicated much of her professional career to raising public awareness of the transformative power of university education and research,” the citation states.

Shaun Collin will become dean of La Trobe U’s of School of Life Sciences next year, he will move from UWA. He will replace Mike Clarke, who will focus on research and teaching.

At the University of Adelaide, John Williams moves from PVC Research Opps to Executive Dean Faculty of Professions and associate provost. Michael Liebelt becomes PVC R Opps and Dean of Graduate Studies. He was recently interim Executive Dean of the Sciences Faculty.

 New fellows are elected to the Australian Academy of Techology and Engineering. Genevieve Bell, ANU. Leeanne Bond, Liquified Natural Gas Limited. Michael Brear, UniMelbourne. Attila Brungs, UTS. Mark Burry, Swinburne U. Alan Bye, BHP. Colin Andrew Campbell, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research. Wallace Cowling, UWA. John Dixon, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research. Annabelle Duncan, UNE. Gordon Frazer, Defence Science and Technology. Justin Gooding, UNSW. Keith Hampson Sustainable Built Environment National Research Centre. Emily Hilder, UniSA. Anna Koltunow, CSIRO. Sue MacLeman, MTP Connect Ltd. Eric May, UWA. Christopher Moran, Curtin U. Sarah Pearson, DFAT. Andrew Peele ANSTO. Fiona Stapleton, UNSW. Chun Wang, UNSW. Phillip Watson, UWA. Johanna Westbrook, Macquarie U. Dong Yang Wu, Defence Science and Technology.  The 2018 foreign fellow is: Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Biocon Limited (India) and the honorary fellow is Elizabeth Broderick, Elizabeth Broderick and Co

It was a big week for awards. The Australian Catholic University’s excellence awards and the University of South Australia’s SA Women in Innovation winners are here.

Tom Walley starts next month as the director of the Hunter Medical Research InstituteProfessor Walley joins from the University of Liverpool in the UK.

Shitij Kapur (Dean of Medicine, Uni Melbourne) and Helen Milroy (UWA) are chairing the advisory panel for the $125m (over ten years) Medical Research Future Fund’s Million Minds Mental Health Research Mission.

 Eva Dimitriadis joins the University of Melbourne’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Professor Dimitriadis moves from the Hudson Institute of Medical Research.

 David Grant (Griffith U) is the next president of the Australian Business Deans Council.  He will replace Tony Travaglione (Uni Newcastle) early next year. Professor Grant is now ABDC secretary.

Tania Aspland (Australian Catholic U) is re-elected president of the Australian Council of Deans of EducationMichele Simons (Western Sydney U) is her deputy.

Louis-Philippe Demers will join QUT next year as professor of creative innovation and director of the university’s Creative Lab. He joins from Nanyang Technological Universityin Singapore. Professor Demers is known for his machine art and interactive robotic works.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education