Appointments, achievements of the summer

Australian Academy of Science appointments: Zach Ghirardello (formerly Diversity Council Australia) becomes director, Diversity and Inclusion. Andrew Hood (ex National Gallery of Australia) is CIO. Petra Lundgren is director, Future Earth Australia. She has “over 25 years of experience spanning academia, government, development cooperation and the not-for-profit sector.”

Larissa Behrendt (UTS) is the Australian Human Rights Commission medal winner.

Joanne Cys steps up at Uni SA to become provost and chief academic officer. She moves from ED Uni SA Creative. Professor Davis replaces Allan Evans, “who moves back to enjoy life as a researcher.”  An open recruitment process for the dean position will be announced.

Flinders U announces VC Colin Stirling’s contract is extended to December ’29. Chancellor Stephen Gerlach is reappointed to 2026

Curtin U VC Harlene Hayne is awarded a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

At QUT, Sarah Howard is confirmed as associate director of the library. She has acted since last January.

Grace Karskens (UNSW) wins the PM’s history prize for her book, People of the River: lost worlds of early Australia .

At UNSW Stuart Khan becomes  director of the Australian Graduate School of Engineering.

Jenny Lewis is appointed director of Scholarly and Social Research Impact at the University of Melbourne. She is professor of public policy at the university.

The National Health and Medical Research Council principal committees are announced for 2021-24, chairs are. * Health Research Impact: Emily Banks (ANU) * Research:  Steve Wesselingh (SA Health and Medical Research Institute), continuing appointment * Ingrid Winship (Uni Melbourne) Health Ethics (Uni Melbourne), continuing appointment.

Fiona Salisbury joins Western Sydney U as ED Library Services. She moves from La Trobe U.

The South Australian Government’s Voluntary Assisted Dying Taskforce includes Ganessan Kichenadasse (Flinders U), Michaela Okninski (Uni Adelaide), Bernadette Richards (Uni Adelaide).

Southern Cross U announced its outstanding teaching and inspiring educator awards last month.

Stela Solar is appointed director of the National AI Centre. She is a previous Microsoft Director of AI Solutions, Sales and Strategy.

Katie Stevenson will join Monash U as dean of arts mid-year. She is to move from VP-Collections at St Andrews in Scotland.

Swinburne U announces DVCs. Karen Hapgood moves from Deakin U to become DVC R. Sarah Maddison is confirmed as DVC Education, Experience and Employability. She was previously Swinburne U’s PVC Academic Innovation. Chris Pilgrim is Senior DVC and Chief Academic Officer. He steps up from PVC E at the university.

Uni SA announces its inaugural Bradley Distinguished Professors, Carol Kulik (human resource management) Lorimer Moseley (physiotherapy), Tim Olds (allied health) and Libby Roughead (clinical and health sciences)

The Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation life sciences prize went to Anne Voss and Tim Thomas (the MRI formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall). Christopher Berndt (Swinburne U) won the physical science award. Prize money for both awards is $50 000.

Shannon Willoughby is Uni Queensland’s inaugural director for government relations.  She moves from the state government’s Trade and Investment Queensland.