Appointments, achievements of the day and the week

Of the day

Ashley Franks become PVC Research Capability at La Trobe U, where he continues to lead the microbiology research group. The role replaces the PVC Research Development function.

Lisa Kewley (ANU) wins the James Craig Watson astronomy medal from the (US) National Academy of Sciences.  It comes with a US$25,000 prize, and $50,000 to support research.

Aaron Quigley will become head of the UNSW School of Computer Science and Engineering in August. He moves from University of St Andrews in Scotland.

Justin Marshall (Uni Queensland) is joint winner of British charity, the Rank Prize Fund’s award for optoelectronics. Professor Marshall shares the award with collaborator Tom Cronin (Uni Maryland). They study light-detection by the mantis shrimp, which may be adaptable to detecting cancel cells which reflect polarised light.

 Of the week

Genevieve Bell (ANU) is named the first Engelbart Distinguished Fellow. The award is from research innovation institute, SRI International. It is named for computing pioneer Doug Engelbart.

Reuben Bolt joins Charles Darwin U as PVC Indigenous Leadership. He moves from UNSW where he was director of the indigenous programme unit.

Historian Joy Damousi is leaving the University of Melbourne for Australian Catholic University, where she will be director of the new Institute for Humanities and Social Sciences.

Jessica Gallagher is appointed Uni Queensland’s PVC for global engagement and entrepreneurship. She moves up from director of the same portfolio at the university.

Michelle Kelly (Curtin U nursing school) is a new fellow of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare.

Alastair McEwan (Uni Queensland) commences his term as convenor of the Australian Council of Graduate Research.

Former federal minister and Australian War Memorial director, Brendan Nelson becomes chair of Boeing ANZ.

 Josh Pienaar joins Uni Southern Queensland as PVC Students. He moves from CQU where he is PVC Learning and Teaching.

Deakin U promotes Ly Tran to professor. She is well-regarded for her research on international students (CMM September 20).

The board of the Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences has elected Dan Woodman president. Associate Professor Woodman is a sociologist and assistant dean of arts (advancement and engagement).


Charles Darwin U advises its 2019 staff awards;

Ryan Family AwardsMpho Dube, (Midwifery) and Daniel Gahreman, (Exercise and sports science).

VC awardsProfessional staffLynley Walker, (Education). Learning and teaching, IT Code Fair Team, Sami AzamBarbara WhiteBharanidharan Shanmugam (Engineering, IT and Environment).  ResearchMenzies School of Health Research Child Health Respiratory Team and Hamish Campbell (Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods).