Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Abbey McDonald from the University of Tasmania is the Australian Teacher Education Association’s teacher of the year. She is honoured for the university’s master of teaching – arts specialisation program.

Of the week

John Dewar (VC La Trobe U) and Andrew Vann (VC Charles Sturt U) have two-year terms as deputy chairs of Universities Australia. Deborah Terry (VC Curtin U) recently commenced as chair. This is Professor Vann’s second term and the first for Professor Dewar. The posts are filled by consensus.

Benjamin Kile become executive dean of the University of Adelaide’s health and medical sciences faculty.  He moves from Monash U where he is head of the school of anatomy and development biology.

Andrew Zannettino is incoming ED for research strategy at theCentral Adelaide Local Area Health Network, which is a joint appointment with Uni Adelaide. He is now interim executive dean of health and medical sciences.

Francine Marques from Monash U is awarded the American Heart Association’s hypertension meeting’s Harry Goldblatt Award for New Investigators.

Si Ming Man from ANU receives the Commonwealth health minister’s 2018 award for researchDr Man works on anti-microbial functions of a class of disease-fighting proteins

Hazel Bateman (UNSW) is the inaugural president of the International Pension Research Association. Professor Bateman’s UNSW colleague John Piggott is a member of the association’s foundation board.  Professor Bateman is also appointed director of academic strategy in the UNSW business school.

Denise Woods joins the University of the Sunshine Coast as PVC Students. She joins from CQU where she is an engaged research chair and director of the Centre for Regional Advancement of Learning.

 Don Markwell is the next warden of St Marks College at the University of Adelaide, commencing in November. He is a former warden of Trinity College at the University of Melbourne and now leads St Paul’s at the University of Sydney. Dr Markwell was an adviser to Chris Pyne as education minister.

Hala Batainah (ex Microsoft) is the new chair of the Canberra Innovation Network, which supports start-ups and SMEs. ANU, Canberra Institute of Technology, CSIRO, Data61, Uni Canberra and UNSW Canberra are members.

Jason Bainbridge is announced as executive dean of the University of Canberra’s Faculty of Arts and Design. He has most recently been at Swinburne U and he University of South Australia.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education