Appointments, achievements

At the University of Queensland, Bronwyn Lea is confirmed head of the school of communication and arts.

 Trade title Lawyers Weekly, announces its short-list for academic of the year, Phillip Drew, ANU. Paula Gerber, Monash U. Vicki Huang, Deakin U. Mark Humphery-Jenner, UNSW. Jane Kotzmann, Deakin U. Aaron Lane, RMIT U. Nicki Mollard, Monash U. Justine Nolan, UNSW. Sara Rayment, Uni Newcastle. Cassandra Seery, Deakin U.

Leon Kempler is the new president of Museums Victoria’ board. Mr Kempler is also chair of the Questacon advisory council.

The Australian Institute of Architects leadership awards are announced, including; Deo Prasad (CRC for Low Carbon Living) is awarded for sustainability, Helen Lochhead (UNSW), gender equity, Sobi Slingsby (Griffith U) student prize. Vivian Mitsogianni (RMIT) education prize.



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education